20 years ago on this day a miracle happened!

It was 20 years ago on a Monday morning, the 2nd of November 1992 when my mom was blessed with a wonderful baby girl. My dad held his little princess with pride and they raised her to be such an amazingly remarkable young woman.

I remember my life from as early as 1997 when I was just 5 years and starting kindergarten. Mom dropped me off on my first day of school and I cried until they decided it’s enough and called her to come fetch me. It took me 2 weeks to blend in and accept that my days with mom are no more. I only saw her after work and it was kind of weird as I used to spend the whole day with her at her work place. I made friends with three girls named Karabo, Maphoko and Motlatso and we became the best of friends, did everything together and I even moved in with my grandmother to spare my mom the trip of dropping me off daily. It didn’t even feel like I moved out because mom came to visit every chance she got. Time flies at the speed of light, 2 years later I saw myself graduating and actually starting primary school. Those were the best years of my life, time spent with loved ones and making friends in all corners of the school. Mid 2002 old age decided to claim my grandmother and I had to go back home. I had to start over at a new school and make new friends and the transition was a bit challenging but I did it, I found new friends in less than a week and life went on as usual. My primary school years ended at the end of 2005 and I had to enter my teen years.

My high school years started on a high note in 2006 with all my friends from kindergarten and Primary school coming together and reuniting all over again. Everyone had changed a lot but it was a great experience and I sailed through life like the free spirited girl that I am! Things happened, life happened and everything just got messed up in the middle of 2008 but I didn’t let it define me, I actually went on with my life like nothing happened. One minute I had friends and the next I was all alone and lonely but I managed to pull through and continued with my head held high. Everyone had turned against me just because of my status and not even once had I ever waved my status in anyone’s face. Most people didn’t even know who I was, only one person whom I regarded as my best friend knew everything about me. I don’t even know when or how the jealousy started but she managed to turn almost everyone against me. Suddenly everyone had an opinion about me and they didn’t even know me! They seemed to forget that the school they were attending was built by Nelson Mandela for MY aunt! I became isolated and learned to rely on myself, for a whole 2 years I was all alone with no friends. The day I wrote my final matric exam I breathed a sigh of relief, I was finally free! Suddenly Whitney Houston’s Exhale had a meaning and I finally found the point where I exhaled in my soul. My mom always told me never to trust anyone especially when you are from the royal family because sometimes it invited loads of trouble and hypocrites who are only there for the high life and I finally realised what she was talking about.

I came to Stellenbosch last year not because I wanted to be here but because I just wanted to get as far away from that place and it’s people as possible. I thought the move here was gonna help but it did NOT help at all. They are still talking about me, gossiping, having opinions, telling me how to live my life and suddenly it feels like I don’t even own it anymore. For some reason they feel like they have some kind of entitlement towards me and that’s not on! Everyone over analyses everything I do and I’m not allowed to make mistakes…and they still think I care! It’s like they think I am some kind of a super woman with super powers, everyone expects me to live my life according to their way and it stops NOW!

I am taking charge of my life! I refuse to let people tell me what to do with it! Today I am no longer a teenager, I’m moving into adulthood! My parents have raised a young responsible woman and to them I will probably always be their little princess and it’s a good thing. I still can’t believe all the things I’ve been through in my life but they were just trials and tribulations and I passed them all. A wise person once said “A woman is like a tea bag, you never know how strong she is until you put her in hot water!” And now I do believe that I am a strong woman! Sometimes I feel like Lira wrote the song titled Something Inside So Strong for me because I can relate to it very well. There really is something very strong inside me and it’s gonna pull me through as I continue this journey called life.

Here’s to more years of making my life a success only some people could dream of!

grown up to be an incredible woman

grown up to be an incredible woman

About rainprincess1

An extraordinary girl living in an ordinary world!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 20 years ago on this day a miracle happened!

  1. Refiloe Selowa says:

    a very lovely piece #going through your archives lol

  2. Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks
    fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

  3. Right now it appears like WordPress is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  4. If you want to increase your experience simply keep visiting this
    web page and be updated with the most up-to-date gossip posted here.

Leave a Reply

